Proposed Law Would Prohibit Lawyers from Soliciting Michigan Auto Accident Participants

HB 477071 would prohibit plaintiff attorneys from contacting Michigan auto accident victims for a 30 day period after the accident. If passed, attorneys who violate this law will face fines of up to $30,000 and potentially felony criminal charges.

This bill is part of a package of proposed legislation aimed at curbing the practice of “ambulance chancing” by attorneys looking to solicit new clients to represent them in their auto accident insurance claims and or litigation. These bills are being presented due to the large number of aggressive attorneys who regularly obtain copies of Michigan auto accident reports as soon as they are available and then immediately contact the participants to try and sign them up as clients.